One that stays, one that goes

“The breezes at dawn have secrets to tell you
Don’t go back to sleep!
You must ask for what you really want.
Don’t go back to sleep!
People are going back and forth
across the doorsill where the two worlds touch,
The door is round and open
Don’t go back to sleep!”
— Rumi

I wake with a clear image in my mind – the seated shape in red, the rising figure to walk away in blue.  The blue rises out of the red, making purple, and is fixed there – as if going but not able to go, staying, fixed in motion.

It is an enduring image, I see it clearly as I write this.  The colours are all of equal weight. The rising one is not a figment of the seated one’s mind, they are both there, both equally real, together.  This for me captures in a peaceful way the feeling of going and staying, without any wanting or desire mixed in to the recipe.  Once it becomes ‘wanting to stay’ and ‘wanting to go’, the tension is there, the conflict arises.

The Space Between the Hare and the Fox: The Space Between the Fox and the Hare - Jackie Morris - The House of Golden Dreams

The Space Between the Hare and the Fox: The Space Between the Fox and the Hare – Jackie Morris – The House of Golden Dreams

I’m reminded of being in a car park just starting to drive away.  I see someone and in that moment my car is driving away and I am being carried.  The red one is unable to move even as I go, but the other, the moving blue one, is feeling an overpowering impulse to stay, to get out of the car and go…  Who is driving who? The car is driving me.  Is any one driving?   I can’t change course, the vehicle takes control.  So I go.  But I’m still here.

Another morning I wake up with another clear thought: ‘I want to fill the space.’  It is so obvious – and so disappointing!  All this time, even on this blog, I keep saying, ‘I want space’, ‘I want to find, make space’.  This is not true.  The lie is a comfortable fiction, it makes me feel good, but in that clear space in the morning before the mind gets filled, I see past the lie.

contemplation

The staying and the going, the filling and the not filling.  The filling of space of time, with busy-ness, is a form of staying.  It’s an activity, a going – that is going nowhere.

This entry was posted in connections, dreams, internet life, Jung, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One that stays, one that goes

  1. souldipper says:

    No matter how difficult, I adore being given the unadorned clarity. I find when it’s good, it’s always a surprise. Enjoyed this very much!

  2. Thanks, Amy. Hope all is well with you and best wishes for 2013.

  3. Thank you, as always you find a way of touching on both the longing for the spiritual and the moving away from it.
    Barbara

  4. Viv says:

    Meditative & poignant.

  5. Tricia says:

    I found this thought-provoking once again – the image of the red and blue was particularly resonant, and your thoughts about desire and how that changes things, and the peace that finding that space of acceptance can bring. Thank you.

  6. thewellhousecircle says:

    Thanks Tricia. Hope it sets the tone for the New Year. 🙂

  7. Asking questions are truly nice thing if you are not understanding something
    entirely, except this piece of writing offers good understanding even.

Leave a Reply

